Strengthening risk communication capacity in the ECOWAS Region

The West African Health Organization and the World Health Organization are working together to strengthen the risk communication capacity within the ECOWAS Region.

La version française:

Language: English

Course information

The 21st century poses new and persisting challenges in detecting and managing infectious diseases like Ebola, cholera, SARS, influenza, and MERS-CoV among others. It is critical for countries to have risk communication capacities to support the prevention, detection and response to health challenges. Out of the 15 countries who are members of the ECOWAS, JEE missions have already been or are in the process of being conducted in the coming months. The 15 member countries of ECOWAS include: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

This course aims to strengthen the capacity of the ECOWAS Region.

  1. Introduction: Risk communication for influenza events Learning objectives:
    • List the core ideas and principles for emergency risk communication for a influenza
    • Explain why facts are not enough to communicate risk
    • Describe steps to take to prepare for risk communication
  2. Module B: International health agreements Learning objective:
    • Define risk communication
    • List the five components of WHO's integrated model for emergency risk communication

Course contents

  • A Introduction to Risk Communication:

    Respond the questionnaire and watch an introductory video to Risk Communication
  • B Introduction to International Agreements

Enroll me for this course

The course is free. Just register for an account on OpenWHO and take the course!
Enroll me now


Course End
Aug 03, 2017
Course Start
Jun 13, 2017